GUEST POST by AUTHOR JO LINSDELL

GUEST POST by AUTHOR JO LINSDELL

Best Selling Author Jo Linsdell Talks about Self Publishing

For me the decision to self publish was Plan A. Partly because I wanted to learn as much as possible about the publishing process and being a hands on kind of learner this seemed like the best option, but also partly because I’m a control freak. I liked the idea of calling all the shots.

The stigma attached to self published books has changed drastically over the years. It’s no longer for those who got rejected. It’s a conscious choice that even big names in the industry are opting for. Stephen King, Jackie Collins and a whole host of other world famous authors have turned down their publishers and gone it alone.

People like Amanda Hocking are inspirational examples of how independent publishing has changed in recent years. Of course not all indie books will have that kind of success but it shows it can be done and brings credibility to the industry.

When I published my first book, Italian for Tourists back in 2006, I knew I wanted to self publish it. I was eager to know as much as possible about everything to do with the publishing industry and wanted the experience of doing it all myself. If I’m honest it started out as a bit on an experiment. People had told me I should write a book millions of times over the years and then when I moved to Rome, Italy requests for a phrasebook followed quickly. I figured I’d give them what they asked for and use it to see if I had what it takes. Turns out I did. The book has been (and continues to be) a constant seller since it was released.

Having had a successful experience I’ve never looked back. Sure I’d consider going a different route if a Publisher offered a million dollar contract (who wouldn’t?). For now though I’m very happy and proud to be a self published author. My children’s books are doing great. Out and About at the Zoo is still a best seller (it hasn’t left the lists since it’s release last year) and my latest book Fairy May (another rhyming children’s picture story book that came out on 1st February this year) is also doing well.

Self publishing isn’t a taboo or a last resort. It’s a choice and one I’m happy to have made.

574839_10152346994935942_1952384122_n

Jo Linsdell is an award-winning blogger and freelance writer living in Rome, Italy. She is also the author of several books including the popular Italian for Tourists, A Guide to Weddings in Italy and the best selling children’s picture book, Out and About at the Zoo. Her latest book Fairy May was released on 1st February 2013. You can find out more about her at http://www.JoLinsdell.com

3 thoughts on “GUEST POST by AUTHOR JO LINSDELL

  1. Thanks for having me back on your site yet again Claudia. It’s always a pleasure to be here. I’d love to hear about other peoples experience with self publishing and also from those that choose to go alternative routes. Would be nice to get a discussion going 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

