Author Interview with Stacey M Rice…

Author Interview with Stacey M Rice…

After I enjoyed reading and reviewing author Stacey M. Rice’s latest work, I invited her to my blog home for a sit-down chat. What follows is our exchange:

1. When did you first realize you were a writer?

I’ve always been a writer. Writing my thoughts and feelings has always come easier to me than speaking them out loud. I can remember writing stories as a little kid. The genre was a little different back then, but my imagination has always been vivid. I really didn’t start taking my writing seriously until the late 90’s, when I started sharing some of my work with strangers in an on-line group and a few close friends and received some encouragement and good feedback.

2. What is your writing process?

When I get an idea, I jot down a little blurb about the story line to help me stay focused. I make sure and spend time with my dog before I settle down to write or she’ll be up in my lap begging for time. Once I’m ready to start writing, I clean the area I’ll be working in; it’s hard for me to focus when I have a lot of clutter around me. The type of scene I’m working on dictates what I listen to. Sometimes I put on a particular genre of music or a specific playlist; other times it doesn’t matter. I just need to have background noise. I let the characters in my head lead the way and just write whatever comes to mind; sometimes it’s in order, sometimes not. I write as much as I can and type it out later. I try not to do too much editing in the beginning or over think the story line. If I do, it takes me forever to finish.

3. Where is your favorite place to write? Time?

My favorite place is on the couch in front of the fireplace or in bed. I usually write late at night or early mornings. I sleep with pen and paper by my bed because sometimes a thought will awaken me from my sleep, and I have to write it down right then for fear of forgetting it.

IMG_2182.small

4. Do you have a Writing Muse?

Art, Life, Music, and Water. I know water may sound strange, but I get a lot of ideas when I’m taking a shower or in the tub. Something about water stirs my thoughts.

5. Poetry or Fiction?

Which do I prefer? Depends on the emotion I’m trying to release or what I’m feeling at the time. I guess if I had to pick one it would probably be fiction because I can lose myself in it. Sometimes my Poetry is a little more personal to situations I may be going through or have gone through at some point in my life.

6. What are your writing goals for 2014?

I have a few projects of my own in the works. Currently I’m in the process of finishing up my first novel. Although I enjoy writing poetry and short stories, I wanted to push myself and try something different. Once the manuscript is finished and ready for print, I’ll focus on the next collection of Poetry and Short Stories.

We will wait zealously for that novel, Stacey! Thank you! Until it hits the shelves and our e-readers, we will reach for EROTIC TONES…SENSUAL MOANS. Oh, and I must confess, I owe a round of gratitude to my beloved Nik Nicholson for asking me the inimitable question: “Claudia, do you know Stacey Rice?” To the Universe, I, as Patty LaBelle sings, “Pass it on.” And I give you, Stacey M. Rice!

Stacey Rice

The novel can be purchased on http://www.Amazon.com.

IMG_2384.small

Leave a Reply

