Part Two: A Gallery of Pictures of the Lambda Literary Foundation’s Writers Retreat…

Part Two: A Gallery of Pictures of the Lambda Literary Foundation’s Writers Retreat…

The gala spanned a week. In that time, I vied to fill my waking moments with as many delights as my senses would imbibe, from the Delta flight to the workshop time to the return flight home, some of which I don’t have pictures, but will allude to nonetheless.

The American Jewish University's sculpture garden located behind the cafeteria, actually a few steps away from the campus' Rare Books Reading Room, brought out the mischievous tiny girl inside me, and she went to work marveling at the various statues and wanting to be photographed on or with said artwork.  The big girl me knew a bit of "Woman, have you lost yo' mind, cuddling up to these folks' statues?" was a wee bit sacrilegious, but you know who won out.  Yep, little girl me!  So here I am, pondering out of what context in the artist's mind this delicate little figure sprang!    And for those wondering if I wore this outfit for the duration of the retreat...I did not!  :)  Just snapped quite a few pics that day!
The American Jewish University’s sculpture garden located behind the cafeteria, actually a few steps away from the campus’ Rare Books Reading Room, brought out the mischievous tiny girl inside me, and she went to work marveling at the various statues and wanting to be photographed on or with said artwork. The big girl me knew a bit of “Woman, have you lost yo’ mind, cuddling up to these folks’ statues?” was a wee bit sacrilegious, but you know who won out. Yep, little girl me! So here I am, pondering out of what context in the artist’s mind this delicate little figure sprang!
And for those wondering if I wore this outfit for the duration of the retreat…I did not! 🙂 Just snapped quite a few pics that day!
I couldn't help it.  The joyous energy in this statue invited me to sit and pose, so I did.  After all, what was I supposed to do, ignore it?  I just forgot to look heavenward...
I couldn’t help it. The joyous energy in this statue invited me to sit and pose, so I did. After all, what was I supposed to do, ignore it? I just forgot to look heavenward…
In the event you thought I fabricated the couple name on the buildings, I have proof that they exist.  Check this one....
In the event you thought I fabricated the couple name on the buildings, I have proof that they exist. Check this one….
Me in California sunshine!  If you're not on my Facebook wall, then my smile is for you!  Wait.  Ever been hugged by a cactus?  Let's say for that moment, I was its bloom!
Me in California sunshine! If you’re not on my Facebook wall, then my smile is for you! Wait. Ever been hugged by a cactus? Let’s say for that moment, I was its bloom!
Our workshop leaders were a dream-come-true, and on the evening of their intimate reading, my Fellows and I were enchanted with the reading of their words!  There is something profoundly sacred in the human voice reading!  And most especially when that voice reads its own words!  Aaaaah!  One day I shall require my mate(s) to read to me!  For sure! In this picture, Poet Eduardo C. Corral and nonfiction author Randall Kenan share their magical light!
Our workshop leaders were a dream-come-true, and on the evening of their intimate reading, my Fellows and I were enchanted with the reading of their words! There is something profoundly sacred in the human voice reading! And most especially when that voice reads its own words! Aaaaah! One day I shall require my mate(s) to read to me! For sure!
In this picture, Poet Eduardo C. Corral and nonfiction author Randall Kenan share their magical light!
This is the beautiful, genial and incomparable author, Lucy Jane Bledsoe!  I have known her words from years back, was in awe of her, and now it was my pleasure to have met her and stood in the sun of her smile and spirit!  Today, I'm yet reading her, as her recent work blazes on my Kindle!  :)
This is the beautiful, genial and incomparable author, Lucy Jane Bledsoe! I have known her words from years back, was in awe of her, and now it was my pleasure to have met her and stood in the sun of her smile and spirit! Today, I’m yet reading her, as her recent work blazes on my Kindle! 🙂
Randall Kenan wowed us with his remembrance of the lovely Eartha Kitt!  Years ago, I basked in his work: LET THE DEAD BURY THEIR DEAD and  A VISITATION OF SPIRITS!   I've got to read THE FIRE THIS TIME!  It's on Amazon, Beloveds!
Randall Kenan wowed us with his remembrance of the lovely Eartha Kitt! Years ago, I basked in his work: LET THE DEAD BURY THEIR DEAD and A VISITATION OF SPIRITS! I’ve got to read THE FIRE THIS TIME! It’s on Amazon, Beloveds!
Corral treated us to his hypnotic voice and award-winning poetry.  I knew I had to have Slow Lightning, volume 106 of the Yale Series of Younger Poets.  The slim volume serenades this table upon which my laptop rests this morning!  Aaaw yes!  The C in his middle name must be for CRUCIAL!  His poetry was melodious, evocative and forgot-to-blink beautiful!
Corral treated us to his hypnotic voice and award-winning poetry. I knew I had to have Slow Lightning, volume 106 of the Yale Series of Younger Poets. The slim volume serenades this table upon which my laptop rests this morning! Aaaw yes! The C in his middle name must be for CRUCIAL! His poetry was melodious, evocative and forgot-to-blink beautiful!
Elizabeth Sims, mystery author extraordinaire, was my workshop leader.  She is a winner of the prestigious Lammy and a distinguished Writer's Digest contributing author.  Her novels are beautifully crafted and hilarious!  I read one of the Rita Farmer mysteries and am looking forward to relishing her canon of other lovelies!  A giver of gifts on this journey called life, Ez not only pens blockbusters but also makes your howl with laughter even when she is instruction you on how to write books that sell and capture hearts!  A crowd pleaser, she is ever honing her craft!
Elizabeth Sims, mystery author extraordinaire, was my workshop leader. She is a winner of the prestigious Lammy and a distinguished Writer’s Digest contributing author. Her novels are beautifully crafted and hilarious! I read one of the Rita Farmer mysteries and am looking forward to relishing her canon of other lovelies! A giver of gifts on this journey called life, Ez not only pens blockbusters but also makes your howl with laughter even when she is instruction you on how to write books that sell and capture hearts! A crowd pleaser, she is ever honing her craft!
This auspicious group is my workshop group, the Genre Fiction group!  Around the table, Corey, Morgan, me, Ez, Garrick, John, Jan, Hope and Anne!  Love them!!!  My roomie, Regina, was snapping the pic!
This auspicious group is my workshop group, the Genre Fiction group! Around the table, Corey, Morgan, me, Ez, Garrick, John, Jan, Hope and Anne! Love them!!! My roomie, Regina, was snapping the pic!

Okay, Beloveds! It’s 3:04 AM. My energy is lagging, flagging me towards slumber. My knee-baby sis and her grand babies are visiting this morning. Everyone is asleep. The babies are piled one atop the other in the Babies’s Room. The twins, my baby nephews, are softly snoring on the living room sofa! The Pink Moscato I’ve recently inhaled is skipping through my veins, even if I only had a quarter of a wine glass. So…before I tumble out of this chair, I shall bid you adieu, mi amour!

The sun will slip between my blinds soon enough. And I don’t mind its morning visitation, except babies will be looking quietly into my face, with their smiling eyes studying my quivering eyelids from being watched.

Mucho amor….

2 thoughts on “Part Two: A Gallery of Pictures of the Lambda Literary Foundation’s Writers Retreat…

Leave a Reply

