Part Three: A Gallery of Pictures from the Lambda Literary Writers Retreat

Part Three: A Gallery of Pictures from the Lambda Literary Writers Retreat

Saludos, todo el mundo! I’m back again for round three, capturing in photos and narrative my Los Angeles Writers Retreat experience. I thank you in advance for being here with me, and please don’t forget to leave your mental prints…if you should like.

I couldn't help it!  This bench in the LA sun had my name on it, and like a mesmerizing woman, when it beckoned, I answered.  A wonder I didn't fall asleep, as it was right after a hugely satisfying lunch.  I probably favor a reticulated caterpillar in sun shades.
I couldn’t help it! This bench in the LA sun had my name on it, and like a mesmerizing woman, when it beckoned, I answered. A wonder I didn’t fall asleep, as it was right after a hugely satisfying lunch. I probably favor a reticulated caterpillar in sun shades.
Some spots do whisper.  Here, the flowers summoned me, really.  Invited me to sit and pose, being we were tonally arrayed.  While I and my celly document my whereabouts wherever I am, I do vie to vary my poses.  There is nothing more unimaginative than someone caught in the same pose throughout their shoots.  And I've ever been much too inventive for that!  :D
Some spots do whisper. Here, the flowers summoned me, really. Invited me to sit and pose, being we were tonally arrayed. While I and my celly document my whereabouts wherever I am, I do vie to vary my poses. There is nothing more unimaginative than someone caught in the same pose throughout their shoots. And I’ve ever been much too inventive for that! 😀
This is the rear view of the cafeteria.  The path at the foot of the stairs leads to the Sculpture Garden, which was across from the Rare Books Reading Room.
This is the rear view of the cafeteria. The path at the foot of the stairs leads to the Sculpture Garden, which was across from the Rare Books Reading Room.
Jenna and I in the beaming, noonday sun!  A writer in the Fiction Workshop, Jenna was a joy to behold every time I saw her.  It just didn't feel right letting her slip by without being accosted, considering she made my Spirit smile!
Jenna and I in the beaming, noonday sun! A writer in the Fiction Workshop, Jenna was a joy to behold every time I saw her. It just didn’t feel right letting her slip by without being accosted, considering she made my Spirit smile!
More fun in the LA sun! That would be me, my roomie, Regina, Corey and Christina!  Did I mention that Christina's play is running in New York now?  Regina and some of my Writing Fellows have already enjoyed it...two weeks after the gala!  I am thrilled that the production is coming to the ATL soon!  Congrats, Christina! Just beautiful people all!!!
More fun in the LA sun! That would be me, my roomie, Regina, Corey and Christina! Did I mention that Christina’s play is running in New York now? Regina and some of my Writing Fellows have already enjoyed it…two weeks after the gala! I am thrilled that the production is coming to the ATL soon! Congrats, Christina!
Just beautiful people all!!!
On Friday night, at Antioch University, during the Fellows' reading, a woman with a glowing smile walked up to me out of a softly socializing and happily eating gathering.  Imagine my surprise to discover Dr. Natalia Tucker, my beloved sisterfriend's lady.  I knew her before she said one word.  But, riding the tide of euphoria after the soul-stirring readings from all of my Fellows reading that evening, I could hardly settle myself to remember my name!  I didn't vouchsafe to Nik Nicholson that I'd met her Better Half until days after our auspicious hello!  I love this picture of us, despite me looking like I'd fallen into a vat of sherry!  (And mind you, I did not imbibe nada that night...well, at the reading.  What happened afterwards was a completely different chapter.)    ;)
On Friday night, at Antioch University, during the Fellows’ reading, a woman with a glowing smile walked up to me out of a softly socializing and happily eating gathering. Imagine my surprise to discover Dr. Natalia Tucker, my beloved sisterfriend’s lady. I knew her before she said one word. But, riding the tide of euphoria after the soul-stirring readings from all of my Fellows reading that evening, I could hardly settle myself to remember my name! I didn’t vouchsafe to Nik Nicholson that I’d met her Better Half until days after our auspicious hello! I love this picture of us, despite me looking like I’d fallen into a vat of sherry! (And mind you, I did not imbibe nada that night…well, at the reading. What happened afterwards was a completely different chapter.) 😉
I was going for studious again...and maybe a nice legs compliment!
I was going for studious again…and maybe a nice legs compliment!
I read a section of a chapter of my latest manuscript, NOT WITHOUT PASSION.  Like a musician making her instrument sing arias, I became my words, felt myself drift across the podium to the audience and longed to continue reading even after I saw my beloved Kyle give me the four-minute, you've-got-to-go sign.  If I could sing, I'd have belted my excerpt.  And if that lovely little stage weren't so adorably quaint, I might have danced my piece to completion.  Yet as it was, I settled for, as my beloved poet Imani Evans says, "making my words dance!"
I read a section of a chapter of my latest manuscript, NOT WITHOUT PASSION. Like a musician making her instrument sing arias, I became my words, felt myself drift across the podium to the audience and longed to continue reading even after I saw my beloved Kyle give me the four-minute, you’ve-got-to-go sign. If I could sing, I’d have belted my excerpt. And if that lovely little stage weren’t so adorably quaint, I might have danced my piece to completion. Yet as it was, I settled for, as my beloved poet Imani Evans says, “making my words dance!”
A Sun Selfie!  Y por que no?  If they have a song about selfies, then selfies snapped in the middle of the day are quite wonderful!
A Sun Selfie! Y por que no? If they have a song about selfies, then selfies snapped in the middle of the day are quite wonderful!
On my final day in the city, my beloved friend, Kanita Petties, treated me to a sightseeing run!  This vibrant mural was one of the sights that demanded my artistic eye!  We passed it on our way to The Abbey!  Oh my, how I loved LA, but I'd have to make mucho dinero to stay!   (And live the way I'd want to live!)
On my final day in the city, my beloved friend, Kanita Petties, treated me to a sightseeing run! This vibrant mural was one of the sights that demanded my artistic eye! We passed it on our way to The Abbey! Oh my, how I loved LA, but I’d have to make mucho dinero to stay! (And live the way I’d want to live!)

Until I return with another photo spread, be saucy, if you can’t muster sweet!

Leave a Reply

