In Search of Frida Kahlo

In Search of Frida Kahlo

Frida Kahlo’s life has beckoned me a for while now. And here she is again.

As I search, I remember. Salma Hayek, una belleza tambien, portrays Frida in the film, FRIDA.

Salma and Frida bear a hauntingly beautiful resemblance.
Salma and Frida bear a hauntingly beautiful resemblance.

I find Kahlo fascinating on so many levels. Her paintings fascinating, most of them self-portraits; her notoriety as a bisexual woman who, as James Baldwin said of himself, “I’ve loved a few men and loved a few women;” her unique beauty with the delicate features and that prominent uni brow gracing her small forehead; her cascading sheets of hair that was often swept up in a top bun; her sacred love of animals and lush plants in her paintings; her freedom with herself and others, her fame as being Mexico’s greatest artist, and these are only a few things that I can think of off extemporaneously—Kahlo was a legend in her own time.

I admire her fearlessness to be herself, in whatever version that manifested itself in, in her heart and head.

Think I’ll search Google for movies that showcase her life. A good start would be to pan Netflix. As I write, I wonder what she’s written. I can imagine a woman living as she lived in a man’s world, doing all the things she did, sans the thought or need of “asking permission,” was the subject of a few pens.

Corral’s poem in my last post drew me to this image of her unique self-portrait that is rather different from all of her other self-portraits. I feel the fire in her pain, love the sass in the her portrayal of the paneled white dress, the these are breasts directness in her posture, the understanding in her shamelessness that breasts and chests ought to be commonplace…so what is the problem? The steel in her back illustrates strength in her vulnerability. The nails her ability to withstand whatever she needs to endure. Her spine may have been broken but never the woman.

If you click the greeting below, you’ll find a site that offers me a starting point for reading about this phenomenal woman. The site unearthed this marvelous quote: “I paint myself because I am often alone and I am the subject I know best.” Now how can I not admire a woman who painted with these words in her mouth?

Saludos Frida!

Frida Kahlo's self-portrait, The Broken Column (Image found on a Google search)
Frida Kahlo’s self-portrait, The Broken Column
(Image found on a Google search)

Since skipping across Goggle, I’ve read that Frida initially painted herself without the white garment she holds. I’m certain that might have been far too much for some viewers…you know the ones nudity astounds. Between you and me, she should have painted both versions. Now that would’ve been bold, Fridalicious! Nonetheless, the woman is awe inspiring and I’m on my search, intrigued!

5 thoughts on “In Search of Frida Kahlo

    1. Greetings Naima,

      What a joy it is to read you here! I was just writing my review for our friend’s poetry collection, The Niikk Davinci Code: Poetry and erotica, when I touched a key, off kilter, I gather, and everything vanished. Well, it was my opening two paragraphs. But I shall not be daunted! Back I go to begin again! That Nikki Davinci is worth any new beginning!

      Thank you! I am most appreciative of your praise!!!!! Merci, gracias, obrigado!

      Much love,

      Thank

      Like

Leave a Reply

