I’m excited to participate in National Poetry Writing Month!

I’m excited to participate in National Poetry Writing Month!

It’s NaPoWriMo Time! Who’s in?

Yes, I’m giddy about inundating myself in the restorative elixir of poetry. Every day for the month of April, I’ll share my poetry, and if you’d like to join me, please plunge right in! I adore company!

ACTUALLY

Bullying begins well before school doors yawn
Before hurt children smell sweat and insecurity
And spy cowered souls
With punched-down spirits
Their profanity-pummeled ears
Ringing with fear and tears
Breath swallowed not to hear
“You so stupid.”
“Give me yo’ lunch.”
“Where you get them toe’down shoes–Payless?
“Ugly way too cute for you.”
“Whatchu gone have for me after school?”

Actually

A woman who tucks her head
Eyes slick scattered marbles
Rolling around another’s cantankerous feet
Learns to raise or lower her hem to suit his whims
Long before she passes herself over,
Just so many assorted spoiled sweets,
Diminished
Crying to be free
Love bullied too far from her heart
Not to be walked back
Without a blue-clothed guard
She wonders how to protect her children
While she shields her own head
Somewhere she recalls a friend said
there were people and places with budgets
to break her fall if she ever chanced
the high dive

Yes, actually

The second unchecked hurt
Races lava
Across the lips
The minute an extension cord, belt buckle, shoe
Go into action
So, too, does bullying, low self esteem, pent rancor, and corrupt
Understanding
About what “to love and be loved” means

Factually

When we lead without love
When we can say:
“What did I tell you? Do what I say, not what I do!
I’m gonna whip that azz. I don’t wanna hear nothing
you got to say. Wait, what the fuck you say to me?
Get yo’ azz outta here.”
When we explain with lashes
When we never bow to affection
When rules outweigh love
When unquestioned authority reigns,
The bully/victim dynamic
Is sustained
Volcanic.

(c) Claudia Moss 4/1/2015

Leave a Reply

