“Heart Pangs”

“Heart Pangs”

She says my heart has
ceased growing,
that I have forgotten
how to exercise it,
even professes
I’ve traffic jams
and roadblocks
on its through fares.

She says practicing
love
and loving are
remedies
I shirk
up close
close up
where it matters
most.

You lighthouse love
but so far, says she,
and when a charmed
sojourner risks Hello
I post detours
calcify
dare you to pass
Go
sans scars.

But what does
she know
about this heart?

For now,
my heart loves
the best it can
no games
no insanity
only me behind its
mirrored, lit vanity.

(c) Claudia Moss 4/10/2015

Leave a Reply

