Kale Dreams

Kale Dreams

I literally dream about the ways I can prepare kale! It’s a power green, replete with all sorts of goodness, from vitamin B6, dietary fiber, calcium, potassium, vitamin E, vitamin B2, iron, magnesium, vitamin B1, omega-3 fatty acids phosphorus, protein, folate, and niacin.

According to this website, http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=38, “Kale’s nutrient richness stands out in three particular areas: (1) antioxidant nutrients, (2) anti-inflammatory nutrients, and (3) anti-cancer nutrients in the form of glucosinolates.”

I have never steamed kale, though there are claims it is more beneficial for the body, perhaps more easily digestible steamed. Before I began baking it of late, I’d been sauteing it in organic olive oil, on a low temp, in a wok. Tough, kale warrants taming, so consuming it raw can be a trial for the digestive system. How do I know? I was RAW for an entire year in 2014!

Preparing my own kale chips has been such a healthy alternative to buying the most times expensive, salty, preserved kale chips from the supermarket. These pictures reveal why I dream green!

20160301_212220
I begin with a clean baking pan of freshly washed organic kale, the leaves crisp and firm! Mine come from Kroger for 99 cents a bunch.
20160303_222200
I sprinkle the kale with basil, black pepper, blackened seasoning and organic olive oil. If I have turmeric, I rain that too!
20160303_224304
Into the over everything goes! The temp is normally set for 450 degrees for 10 minutes. Don’t let it burn!
20160303_225303
The end result makes for taste bud paradise! Try it and let me know what you think, if you haven’t already tried it. XOXO
Leave a Reply

