Healthy Havens

Healthy Havens

Saturday love, amores!

I thought to share my love of food this afternoon, for same as I am mindful of the things to which I give my attention in my life, I am purposeful about what I consume. Food is art. It is self love, self care. I woo with food, hum at the taste of extraordinary food, this thought alone flooding me with the memory of one of my nephews, when he was a tiny tot. He’d sit at my table beside my son, who was a few years older, and if I served him as much as a juicy hot dog (something I no longer serve anyone…unless it is a veggie hot dog! :D) he’d literally moan unabashedly. Reminded me of the cartoon doggie, Scooby Do, who moaned loudly at the swallow of a scrumptious dog biscuit that took his bark away.

The little fellow taught me, in toddler lexicon, to be present when something is good. Without thought to others falling down laughing around him, which included me. In that moment, I remembered that I am the most important person on my stage. Others are my co-stars, as I was his, watching him, enthralled. The little disc-shaped eyes closed, lashes on plump cheeks, the jaws dancing. The kitchen fell away, while my small son and I observed in awe!

That is how I dine now, utterly sublime…when the food is good!

Below are a few of the meals I’ve prepared in the past few weeks. My Android is full of them, since I can hardly prepare a meal without a snap here and more snaps there. Talk about being ostensibly connected to technology and the Internet. 🙂 Pooh, pooh! I define me, and in one of my definitions, I am a blogger, of thoughts, pictures and soul. Therefore, unashamed, I snap away!

I no longer whip myself about anything these days! I’ve learned to accept me in all of my me finery.

Self flagellation? I leave that to the Minister Arthur Dimmesdale in Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter. The only letter I choose to emblazon across my bosom is L, for lover, and it can be the same color as Hester Prynne’s A, as I adore red. In Claudia’s universe it is passion incarnate.

Yes, I prepared all of the meals, from the processed chick peas or garbanzo beans to the glass noodles to the purple cabbage and mandarin orange squeals of joy! Hmmm. Un momento! The only one I didn’t serve up was the plate of salad and brown rice on the red tablecloth. I relished that meal at my lovely Aunt Marion’s home recently. Wherever I go, someone knows to have a rabbit’s feast waiting!

Bon appetit!

xoxo

What delicious delight have you prepared lately?

5 thoughts on “Healthy Havens

  1. That was such a pleasure to read!It made me really hungry, but I was happy at the same time!

    “Self flagellation? I leave that to the Minister Arthur Dimmesdale in Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter. The only letter I choose to emblazon across my bosom is L, for lover, and it can be the same color as Hester Prynne’s A, as I adore red. In Claudia’s universe it is passion incarnate.”

    The literary nerd in me loved this haha. Great post 🙂

    Like

    1. Aaaaw, thanks so very much, spoken!!!

      I am deeply honored! Having taught English and English Literature for many years, I cannot stop the artist in me from sprinkling literary allusions across the easel of my screen!

      Todavia, muchas gracias!!!
      Claudia
      xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

